The Ragged Saints; new music from the sonic playground

After few years hiatus Finnish hard rockers The Ragged Saints are coming back with an old school 80’s hard rock influenced record. Album titled ”Sonic Playground Revisited” contains 10 new songs, and will delight not only The Ragged Saints fans, but also fans of bands like Whitesnake, Def Leppard and Ratt to mention a few.

”New songs are pretty much in the same vein as on the first album. We didn’t really feel the need to experiment too much or change our musical style. Why fix something that is not broken? There’s a bit more keyboards and orchestration on some of the songs and little synth bass here and there, but it’s the same guys who wrote the songs, so the style and sound are pretty much the same as before. Once again studio was our sandpit, our own sonic playground. You can hear the same influences we had when we wrote songs for our first album” says guitarist Toni Bite.

Band has been working on the album on and off for number of years;

”It’s been a work in progress since around 2013. That’s when we did the first demos. Actual recording started a year later, but after that there was a long gap. We didn’t have time to concentrate on the recording at that point. Too many things happening at the same time with our other bands, projects and in our personal lives. But I’m glad that it has taken so long, it has given us time to distance ourselves from the songs and look at them from different perspective. Now we’re really happy with how every song turned out. We’re looking forward to hearing what other people think, because we love the record. It’s the kind of music we listen to at home” continues guitarist Tomi Julkunen.

The Ragged Saints was formed in 2011 by guitarists Tomi Julkunen and Toni Bite. After writing bunch of songs they recruited like-minded singer Markku Kuikka, bassist Jukka Hoffrén and drummer Miikki Kunttu ”not to reinvent the wheel but to play melodic hard rock music we all have loved since the day one”. Shortly after forming they began working on their first record. Band’s well received and critically acclaimed debut album ”The Sound Of Breaking Free” was released in 2013.

New Album "Sonic Playground Revisited" will be released world wide on January 31, 2020 via German AOR Heaven Label.

The Ragged Saints is:

Markku Kuikka - vocals
Tomi Julkunen - guitars
Toni Bite - guitars
Jukka Hoffrèn - bass
Miikki Kunttu - drums

facebook youtube Twitter

Buy the album:

levykauppaax aorheaven cdon NEH iTunes Spotify